Chautauqua County Emergency Services Chautauqua County Website Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service Community Emergency Response Team Critical Incident Stress Management Water Emergency Team Fire Investigation Team Chautauqua Area Search Team Technical Rescue Team Hazmat Response Team Chautauqua County Fire Police EMS Fire Service

Radio Issues
The Responder Registration

The Chautauqua County Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Council was officially formed in 1976 following guidance and direction established by New York State and the Federal Department of Transportation to improve and standardize emergency medical treatment in the State and the Nation. This was also the time frame when the Medical Emergency Technicians (MET) program was being developed and which would soon give way to the New York State Emergency Medical Technician (EMT) program that is still in use today.

A group of dedicated local community leaders working together developed a proposal for coordinated and standardized EMS which was presented to Chautauqua County government officials for implementation.

The community leaders that brought the plan to life were Dr W. Shaw MD, Dr. Hall MD, Raymond Taylor, Bonita Shaw RN, John McGrath, Ralph Sandquist and Dr. Robert Kochersberger. Their forethought and effort at that time resulted in a well thought out emergency medical delivery system that has the ability to change and grow as needs and technology change.

A key aspect of the Chautauqua County emergency medical system is the EMS Council the purpose of which is to formulate, develop and coordinate an effective emergency medical services system plan within Chautauqua County.

Membership on the EMS Council is set at 35 voting members with additional Ex-Officio non-voting as appropriate. The voting membership is broken down as follows:

Fire Service (10), representation to be comprised of two (2) firefighters from each of the four (4) battalions, as well as two (2) career firefighters, one (1) career firefighter from the North County and one (1) career firefighter from the South County. Criteria for selection must give preference based upon the individuals’ involvement with emergency medical service in his/her fire department. (No two persons may be from the same fire company.)

Hospitals (4), representation is to be comprised of one (1) person from each of the four (4) county hospitals. Education (2), representation comprised of one (1) person from the North County and one (1) person from the South County. Red Cross or American Heart Association (1) representative. Commercial Ambulance Service one (1) representative. Coroner (1) representative. CISM (1) representative from the Team. Deputy Medical Fire Coordinator (1) representative. Fire Chiefs’ Association (1) representative. Fire Advisory Board (1) representative.

At-Large Twelve (12) representatives comprised of persons from public or voluntary agencies, special interest groups or the general public. A minimum of four (4) persons from the North County and a minimum of four (4) persons from the South County at all times. The North and South as referenced refer to the four fire battalions in the County and are designated as Battalion 1 & 2, north with 3 & 4 being designated south.

The EMS Council meets every other month (odd months) on the 2nd Wednesday. Meetings are conducted at 6:30 PM at 2 Academy Street, Suite A in the Offices of Chautauqua County Emergency Services Mayville, NY. Sub-committees meet an hour prior to the regular meeting. These meetings are open to the public and all interested parties are invited to attend.

For more complete and detailed information please refer to by-laws of the Council in button marked By-Laws below.